With a little help, you can easily manage your Google Drive storage. Move the files to the trash to delete them from Google Drive. After 30 days, items in the trash are automatically erased. Within the 30-day time frame, you can restore files from your trash. To empty your trash, you can also remove files permanently. It may take some time for you to see the changes when you remove, restore, or permanently delete any files or directories at once.
On a PC, go to google.com/settings/storage to discover how much space you have available.
Important: When your Gmail account’s storage limit is reached, you won’t be able to send or receive email.
To make place for new items, clear space in Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos.
Manage your Google Drive storage by deleting files based on their size
- To see your files in order from largest to smallest, use a computer.
- Move files you don’t want to the Trash, then permanently delete them.
Tip: Deleted things will appear in your Google Drive account’s available space within 24 hours.
Delete emails in the Spam folder for good
- Click Spam on the left. Press More if you don’t see Spam.
- Select Delete all spam messages now at the top of the page. Alternatively, you can select certain emails and then click Delete Forever.
Learn about Gmail search operators to find out about alternative ways to search for email.
Delete any files that you no longer require
Use the Google One Storage Manager to remove single or numerous files that are using up space. Learn how to make Google storage space available.
Your Google Drive storage:
There is no way to sync or upload fresh files. Google Docs, Slides, Sheets, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard do not allow you to create new files. You and no one else will be able to change or copy your affected files until you reduce the amount of storage you utilize. Syncs between your Google Drive folder on your PC and My Drive come to a halt.
Important: Beginning June 1, 2021, if you are inactive for two years or more or exceed your storage quota, Google may destroy all your emails.
Click here for more articles.